Skip to content

Thankful for the “small stuff”

November 7, 2016

I am fully aware of the common saying, “Don’t sweat the small stuff!”.  I totally agree with this.  In fact, I think as educators we shouldn’t get lost in the trivial things that happen in the classroom.  Trying to micromanage the class and the behaviors will inevitably lead to less trust by the students.  It will be detrimental to your learning path as a teacher and/or administrator. 

On the other hand, I think we should be grateful for all the little things and “small stuff” that happen in the learning space.  It is these little happenings that make a space beautiful and full of love.  I stop and acknowledge the person who holds the door for the class or helps clean up a space without being asked.  I smile at the student who takes their time working through a challenging problem without backing down or complaining about it.  I thrive off of a collaborative classroom where students freely help each other.  That help might come with a pat on the back, a hug or helping with an assignment.  

These are all little acts that I thankfully see everyday by my amazing #MultiageAHES students.  They can be easily missed but these moments help build a community of learners. So, I don’t sweat the small stuff but I am happy the small stuff happens. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

