Skip to content

Final Message to my Grade 5 Students

June 7, 2015

I sent the following message as an email to my class this morning.  Since I created it as a Google Doc, it will remain in their “Shared with Me” folder so I hope it is viewed again in the future.  Here is the message I sent.

Dear 5th Grade Graduates,

It has been a pleasure working with you this year.  I have learned a lot from each of you.  Your unique personalities and abundant gifts enabled me to step back and let learning happen organically in the classroom.  There were a few last words I wanted to share with you as you move on to the next chapter in your life.

Never Stop Learning

  • Remember that learning is not a school thing it is a life thing.  Never cease to learn.  Learn from your mistakes and learn from your successes.  Learn from each other and learn from yourself.  

Be Passionate!  

  • Find passions in life and use those as an avenue for new adventures.  

Stay motivated!

  • Life can be hard.  There are many hoops to jump through.  Don’t let those hoops hinder your ability to learn and move forward.  You must find your motivation to success.  

Define Success!

  • In life, people will try to label success.  Sometimes they might be accurate and sometimes they might not be.  Don’t lose hope and be ready to define SUCCESS for yourself.

Make Change!

  • Don’t always settle for what is.  Be prepared and willing to ask questions so that you can help bring change when needed.  Seek answers and work hard to be the future that society needs you to be.  

Have Fun!

  • Lastly, have fun.  Learning is fun.  It truly is.  Read books, write, create, build, PLAY, invent, challenge, solve….and so on.

It was my honor working with you this year.  I will miss each and every one of you.  Your enthusiasm and energy will never be forgotten.  Thank you for making my first year at Agnor-Hurt fun, exciting, and a great learning experience.  Happy Summer.  

Much Love,

Mr. T

No comments yet

Leave a comment