Skip to content

The Last Three days of School

June 17, 2011

The last 3 days of school is reserved for assemblies, parties, Field Day, and unfortunately last-minute testing (but that is going to be another less positive post).   I love the last few days of school.  Traditionally, I have my students complete an autobiographical writing assignment that also involves them creating a poster of pictures that go along with their autobiography.  This year was different.

Wednesday June 8th

Earlier this year, I was asked to present on Web 2.0 tools at TeachMeet Nashville by @2footgiraffe.  I asked Adam if my students could present instead of me.  Adam, and I agreed that this would be an awesome opportunity for my students, and the teachers.  In my humble opinion, we need more students presenting at conferences.  Their voice is not heard enough.  Once SOL testing was complete, my students began developing their presentation.  They chose to present on Skype, @LiveBinders, and Twitter.  In order to make this completely student centered, I only helped them with their presentation when asked.  I kept my ideas and my thoughts to a minimal.  They split into three groups and made an amazing 30 minute presentation.  There were over 300 teachers in attendance, and many watching via Ustream.  Unfortunately, the video did not record but here is an audio of their presentation (it starts about 10 minutes in).  http://bit.ly/jU11zR

We ended Wednesday on a high after reading all the great tweets we got from #TMnash participates.  What an awesome experience.

Thursday June 9

On Thursday my third grade team decided to do a grade level rotation so that we could all see the students one last time.  That was a fun experience but not worth a mention in a blog.  After we finished the 3 rotations, we had a few minutes before lunch.  That is when Jenny came up to me and said she had something to share.  Jenny is an ESOL student who is smart and intuitive, but is very shy when it comes to presenting in front of the class. I was excited that she had something to share.  It turns out she had created a poster with many facts about the different types of dolphins in the world.  Here is a pic of her poster.  http://yfrog.com/h4keaxxoj

It was truly inspiring to see how interest based learning can engage a student.  While most classes were probably doing arbitrary activities, which I have done plenty of times, my student was still engaged, and teaching her classmates.  #Awesome

Friday June 10

The last day of school was only a half day and it was filled to the brim.  We had a scheduled breakfast/party first thing in the morning.  Then a school wide assembly.  After all of that we had about 30 minutes of free time.  Well, I thought it was going to be free time but a few of the students had another idea.  Two students decided to present a poster they had been working on at home.  They had created an amazing poster about volcanoes throughout the world.  The remaining 20 students sat there engaged and listening to this presentation that went on for about 15 minutes.

I am going to end this post with a speech one of my students shared.  She wrote this to the class as a final farewell.

Riley G”s last day of school speech-  6/10/11

This year we have had very many good times..sadly we lost Bryce (moved to New Jersey) but we finally got over it.

I think of each of you as family. In this class we met three new people but they fit in all along. We are all so lucky to have had Mr. T (the best).  22 great students I have to leave for the summer.  I know Josh and Liam are going to different schools and I hope you enjoy it but it won’t be the same without you two.  Not seeing you just for the summer puts me in tears.  It seems like just yesterday that I was the new girl but after today I will be a rising 4th grader. You have all helped me along the way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 4:38 pm

    Is someone cutting onions or do I need to dust?

    • June 18, 2011 3:38 am

      You are funny. I was trying to be that sentimental but it did come across that way.

Leave a Reply

