Skip to content

Google

October 8, 2010

I am ashamed to say that I am late to the “Google Table”.  I have only used it in the past as a search engine.  Now, I have seen the light and the errors of my ways.  This year, I have been making Google Forms, utilizing Google Calendar for all my lesson plans, and Google Docs for collaborating with my fellow teachers.  I have used Google Earth numerous times this year as well.  On one occasion, my class and I were Skypeing to Italy.  During our conversation, we were also perusing Google Earth.  The students were able to see the places mentioned during our Skype.

At Back to School night this year, I developed a Google Form for my parents to complete.  I was able to survey my parents on all the policies discussed during the night.  My students are now completing quizzes, worksheets and discussions all using Google form or documents.  As the first quarter of the school year comes to a close, I have created a Google doc for my parents to complete to set up conference times.

The next step is to have my students develop a class Google site of their own.  I want them to choose the apps they find valuable.  I want them to create forms, docs and presentations.

How are you using Google in your classroom?  I know that there is a lot I have not tried yet, so please share your thoughts and suggestions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    October 9, 2010 5:02 pm

    This is so impressive! I would love to learn more about this from you sometime. Your students are very fortunate to have such a technologically adventurous teacher!

Leave a Reply

