Skip to content

Lost and Unengaged

March 21, 2011

“Writing eases my suffering… writing is my way of reaffirming my own existence.” Gao Xingjian

I have never considered myself a writer.   I find writing to be therapeutic, and gratifying.  I look back on my youth and realize that I did not enjoy writing.  In school if it was time to write, I would find something to get in the way of my assignment.  My pencil needed sharpening.  My eraser would not work, etc.  I was a lost writer.  I was an unengaged writer.  I was rarely given an authentic writing assignment that truly brought out my enthusiasm for writing.

The NWPs vision statement is, “Writing in its many forms is the signature means of communication in the 21st century. The NWP envisions a future where every person is an accomplished writer, engaged learner, and active participant in a digital, interconnected world.”

My 3rd grade class is filled with all different types of writers.  I have passionate writers, imaginative writers, comic book writers, lost writers, unengaged writers and free thinking writers.  My goal is to not just have a “writing time” or a “writing assignment” but engage my students by growing their thirst for writing.  It is not easy.  Our educational system has swept writing under the rug.  I have seen and participated in this.  When time is limited in the classroom, writing is one of the first activities to go.  The NWP was trying to change this. The NWP was working to include writing in all disciplines.  Research has proven, http://www.nwp.org/cs/public/print/resource/3208 ,  that the NWP was winning its battle with lost and unengaged writers.  Let them live to fight another day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

